Collaboration enhances care across eastern North Carolina.

The Eastern Regional Advisory Committee (ERAC) was organized in 1998 to implement and coordinate a regional trauma system and thereby improve trauma care in eastern North Carolina. The committee’s activities and purpose were mandated by the NC General Assembly, which passed the 1998 Trauma Systems Act.


To establish and maintain a coordinated regional trauma system plan to provide optimal trauma care for the people of eastern North Carolina.


To plan, coordinate and provide education for health care personnel and the public on trauma-related topics including clinical care, prevention, and quality management. ERAC also participates in national, state and regional trauma-related research to advance development of trauma systems and promote understanding of traumatic injury on the human body. Through these efforts, ERAC will continually advance trauma care for people across eastern North Carolina.

ERAC comprises stakeholders from EMS and hospitals within ECU Health’s 29-county catchment area to provide trauma-related best practice guidelines, education, and performance improvement to ensure the communities we serve receive a high standard of care.

ERAC EMS Agencies

  • Beaufort County
  • Bertie County
  • Camden County**
  • Carteret County
  • Chowan County
  • Craven County
  • Currituck County**
  • Dare County
  • Duplin County~
  • Edgecombe County
  • Gates County**
  • Greene County**
  • Halifax County
  • Hertford County
  • Hyde County**
  • Jones County**
  • Lenoir County
  • Martin County
  • Nash County
  • Northampton County**
  • Onslow County~
  • Pamlico County**
  • Pasquotank County
  • Perquimans County**
  • Pitt County
  • Tyrrell County**
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Wilson County

**denotes counties without a hospital
~denotes secondary EMS affiliation


  • Albemarle Health
  • Lenoir Memorial Health
  • ECU Health Bertie Hospital
  • Nash General Hospital
  • Naval Medical Center, Camp Lejeune
  • Onslow Memorial Hospital
  • Carteret Health Care
  • ECU Health Chowan Hospital
  • ECU Health Medical Center
  • Carolina East Medical Center
  • ECU Health Beaufort Hospital, a campus of ECU Health Medical Center
  • ECU Health Duplin Hospital
  • ECU Health Roanoke-Chowan Hospital
  • ECU Health North Hospital
  • Washington Regional Hospital
  • Outer Banks Health Hospital
  • Wayne Memorial Hospital
  • ECU Health Edgecombe Hospital
  • Wilson Medical Center


ERAC and the ECU Health Medical Center trauma department are committed to providing trauma education to our 29-county region. Team members can customize trauma-related education to fit the needs of pre-hospital providers, regional hospitals and beyond.

To schedule education, inquire about patient follow-up, or for any other information, contact the trauma outreach/ERAC coordinator at 252-847-8687.

Available education offered through ERAC and ECU Health Medical Center includes:

  • Rural Trauma Team Development Course (RTTDC)
  • Trauma Nursing Core Course (TNCC)
  • Customizable Trauma Training
  • Performance Improvement and Case Reviews